Go to current week.⬇

Week1
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Aug 29
2:00 pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational Meeting I
Minutes
Tues, Aug 30
10:00 am
Aud
Dam Thanh Son
Hall viscosity and electromagnetic response
Notes
Wed, Aug 31
3:30 pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational Meeting II
Minutes, Notes
Thurs, Sept 1
2:00 pm
Aud
Sung-Sik Lee
Holographic matter: deconfined string at criticality
Notes
Fri, Sept 2
12:00 pm

Per Kraus
Higher spin holography and black holes
Notes
Week 2
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Sep 5



LABOR DAY
HOLIDAY
Tues, Sep 6
10:00 am
Aud
David Tong
Aspects of Holographic Fermions
Notes
Wed, Sep 7
12:00 pm
Aud
Discussion led by
Joe Polchinski
Renormalization Group and Holography
Notes
Thurs, Sep 8
2:00 pm
Aud
Hong Liu &
Joe Polchinski
Fermi Liquids & Holography
Notes
Fri, Sept 9
12:00 pm
Aud
Max Metlitski
Fermi Quantum Criticality
from the point of view of Condensed Matter, part I
Notes
Week 3
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Tues, Sep 13
10:00 am
Aud
Andy O'Bannon and
Andrei Parnachev
Aspects of Probe Branes in Holography
Notes
Wed, Sep 14
12:00 pm
Aud
Discussion led by
N. Iqbal and D. Hofman
From Black Holes to Electron Stars
Notes
Thurs, Sep 15
2:00 pm
Aud
Gordon Semenoff
Graphene and Holographic 3D Fermions
Notes
Fri, Sep 16
12:00 pm
Aud
Max Metlitski
Fermi Quantum Criticality, part II
Notes
Week 4
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Tues, Sep 20
10:00 am
Aud
Andrei Starinets
Holographic zero sound at finite temperature

Wed, Sep 21
12:00 pm
Aud
Discussion led by Tarun Grover
and Shinsei Ryu
Entanglement entropy in condensed
matter and holography

Thurs, Sep 22
2:00 pm
Aud
Jan Zaanen
Testing AdS/CMT in the laboratory:
the holographic superconductor.

Week 5
Time
Place
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Tues, Sep 27
10:00 am
Aud
Pavel Kovtun
Parity-breaking hydrodynamics in 2+1 dimensions

Wed, Sep 28
12:00 pm
Aud
Discussion led by Joe Bhaseen
Exploring non-equilibrium dynamics using AdS/CFT

Thu, Sep 29
2:00 pm
Aud
Subir Sachdev
Holography and compressible quantum phases

Fri, Sep 30
10:00 am
Aud
Tom Faulkner
Introduction to holography

Week 6





Mon, Oct 3
2pm
Aud
Sean Hartnoll
Focus week introduction: Criticality and instability in holography

Tue, Oct 4
10am
Aud
Andrew Mackenzie
Thermodynamics near magnetically tuned quantum critical points - past work & future prospects

Tue, Oct 4
12.30pm
Aud
Eva Silverstein
Large N gauge theories and ``strange metallic" transport

Wed, Oct 5
10am
Aud
Steve Kivelson
Achieving confusion - the puzzle of bad metals

Wed, Oct 5
2pm
Aud
John McGreevy
Black hole entropy and intermediate-temperature states of matter

Thu, Oct 6
10am
Aud
Gil Lonzarich
Unconventional phenomena on the border of metallic magnetism

Thu, Oct 6
4pm
Aud
Senthil Todadri
Non-fermi liquid metals: Some facts, ideas, and speculations

Fri, Oct 7
10am
Aud
Johanna Erdmenger
Imbalanced mixtures and anisotropic hydrodynamics from gauge/gravity duality

Fri, Oct 7
3.30pm
Aud
Discussion led by McGreevy and Hartnoll


Week 7





Mon,10
2pm
Aud
Tom Faulkner
Introduction to holography II

Tue,11
10am
Aud
Gary Horowitz
A Turbulent Instability of Anti-de Sitter Space

Wed,12
12 noon
Aud
Joe Polchinski
Magnetic AdS Branes

Thu,13
2pm
Aud
Catherine Pepin
Heavy fermions: condensed matter theory perspective

Week 8





Tue
10am
Aud
Andreas Karch
Topological Insulators - Fractional and Holographic

Wed
12 noon
Aud
Tadashi Takayanagi
Recent Updates of Holographic Entanglement Entropy

Thu
2pm
Aud
Liza Huijse
A supersymmetric model for lattice fermions

Week 9





Tue
10am
Aud
Umut Gursoy
Gravity, spin models and continuous phase transitions

Wed
12 noon
Aud
Cenke Xu
Topological Terms of Nonlinear Sigma Models

Thu
2pm
Aud
high energy seminar


Fri
10am
Aud
Chris Herzog
ADE-CST


Week 10
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, October 31



HALLOWEEN

Tues, November 1
10 am
Aud
Matthew Fisher
Bose and Non-Fermi Liquid Metals

Wed, November 2
12 noon
Aud
Alejandra Castro
The gravity dual of the Ising model

Thurs, November 3
2 pm
Aud
R. Loganayagam
Anomaly Polynomial as a Hydrodynamic Property








Week 11
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, November 7
4 pm
Aud
Koenraad Schalm
Towards a Holographic Fermi Liquid

Tues, November 8
10 am
Aud
Shamit Kachru
Maximally Supersymmetric Dirt

Wed, November 9
12 noon
Aud
Julian Sonner
Holographic noise near quantum critical points

Thurs, November 10
2 pm
Aud
Rob Myers
Holographic Entanglement Entropy








Week 12
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, November 14
4 pm
Aud
Philip Phillips
Holography and Mottness: A Discrete Marriage

Tues, November 15
10 am
Aud
Xiaoliang Qi
An attempt to understand the holographic duality
through a functional formalism

Wed, November 16
12 noon
Aud
Benson Way

Koushik Balasubramanian
Lifshitz holography in string theory: singularities
and embeddings
String theory duals of Lifshitz-Chern-Simons gauge theories

Thurs, November 17
2 pm
Aud
John McGreevy
Free the slave particles: fractionalized states
for holography and for topological insulators

Fri, 18
11am
Aud
All
Final discussion!

*Aud=Auditorium, SSR=Small Seminar Room, MSR=Main Seminar Room, FR=Founders' Room, PL=Porthole Lounge
⬆TOP